Texas DWI Details
In the state of Texas, driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges are calculated through the use of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Your BAC level can be based on the amount of drinks you’ve had, your gender, and your body weight. It determines whether you are too intoxicated to operate a motor vehicle. In
Texas, BAC limits are as follows:
- 21 years old or older: 0.08%
- Commercial drivers: 0.04%
- Younger than 21 years old: Any detectable amount.
Texas DWI Penalties
Factors such as age, license type and other circumstances such as horrific events like death or the amount of passengers in the vehicle determine the type of penalties you may face. Fines and surcharges, license suspension, community service, increased car insurance rates, and imprisonment (even for a 1st offense) are all common DWI penalties in Texas. In addition, DWI education and intervention programs serve as penalties.
Available Texas Education Programs Following a DWI
Through the Texas Department of State Health Services, the state offers several alcohol education and intervention programs. In most cases, a judge will determine which program makes the most sense for your particular situation. Three of the most popular post DWI education programs include:
DWI Education Program
Designed for first-time offenders with probation, the Texas DWI Education program focuses on how drugs and alcohol impact the body, mind and driving abilities. It educates first-time offenders on substance abuse and dependency as well as Texas DWI laws. The Texas DWI Education program is a 12-week course that must be completed within 180 days of the date probation occurred.
DWI Intervention Program
Created for repeat offenders with previous DWI offenses, the DWI Intervention program covers deeper topics such as self esteem and lifestyle problems, chemical dependency and alcoholism, relapse prevention, and support groups like Al-Anon. If this 32 hour long course is not completed, Texas will terminate your license.
Alcohol Education Program for Minors
The Alcohol Education Program for Minors is intended for minors who have received a DWI or DUI offense. It educates minors about alcohol awareness, the relationship between drugs, alcohol and driving, societal problems related to drugs and alcohol, and patterns that can indicate alcohol abuse and addiction. This program is typically 8 to 12 hours long and may be substituted with community service. Failure to complete this program or community service within 90 days of conviction prompts 6 months of license suspension.
Contact Madrid Law for DWI Representation
If you or a loved one was charged with a DWI in Houston, you should consult Mario Madrid, an experienced drunk driving attorney. Fill out our online contact form or call our office at 713-877-9400 today.